Pentagram To Play Roadburn   1 comment

Long time and under-appreciated for decades, D.C. doom legends Pentagram, with riff-legend Victor Griffin back in the band, have been confirmed for the Thursday Roadburn date, Thursday, April 14th, 2011. Pentagram’s sudden rise to fame in the underground after all these years is deserved but I question how many people truly like them and how many have simply jumped upon the bandwagon in the same way that Saint Vitus is all of a sudden fashionable among Doom Metal fans. Yes, that is negative and I might be a old grump but I can’t help think this way but I think its great that Pentagram are back and kicking ass in the way that didn’t seem at all possible just a few years ago. I saw them live not too long ago and it was truly a magical experience, it was like witnessing history in the making or seeing gods right before your eyes. Bobby Liebling is a walking miracle, he is lucky to be alive and what is even more miraculous is he is in great form, singing better than ever and with a energy that would have seemed impossible just a few years ago.

Some people put them on the same level as Black Sabbath, a claim that I feel is totally crazy but at the same time I can’t denied what a impact they have had on the underground scene. They should have been as big as other second-level bands in the 70’s and I mean that with all due respect but for decades they lived in obscurity. Seeing Pentagram live at Roadburn in 2011 would be a awesome experience, I wish I could be there, maybe, just maybe I can…time will tell.

Posted September 8, 2010 by doommantia in Pentagram

One response to “Pentagram To Play Roadburn

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Now don't read this, because you're gonna be jealous – but I live 1 hour and 7 minutes driving from Tilburg :D. For me, listening to (early) Pentagram was as musically forming as was Sabbath.. They played live in Tilburg last year, great show!

Leave a Reply

