Cowbells And Cobwebs – PlanetFuzz Compilation   Leave a comment

Track Listing

Disc 1 (Cowbells)
01 – Mangoo – No Clue*
02 – Orthodox Fuzz – Black Goat*
03 – Arrowhead – Eagle Death Machine*
04 – Ride the Sun – Ride*
05 – Audio Dream Sister – Marquis Moon
06 – Sons of Giants – Mr Whoo*
07 – Sungrazer – Zero Zero
08 – Moab – Morelore*
09 – Honcho – Earth
10 – Gate 9 – Rolling Wheel*
11 – Propane Propane – It’s Alright
12 – Spelljammer – Nine
13 – Loimann – T.H.C. (Towards Higher Consciousness)
14 – The Grand Astoria – Raise the Dead*

Disc 2 (Cobwebs)
01 – Inner Mountain Flame – Celestial Mechanics
02 – Maaswater Veenlijk – Whores of Babylon
03 – Coffin on Tyres – Time Machine
04 – Tombstones – The Source*
05 – Forged in Flame – The Underground*
06 – Floodstain – Slumbering Titan Slayer*
07 – Electric Cavemen – In a World Gone*
08 – Soulseller – The Temple*
09 – The Graviators – The Magician*
10 – Samsara Blues Experiment- Back to Life*
11 – Cigmouth – Damn Critters!
12 – Mother of Six – Ahab
13 – Keef – Never Smile
14 – El’ Garsonorogio – Night Dream, Life Dream*
* – Exclusive unreleased tracks

Compilation albums are a dime a dozen these days and most of them are usually pretty disposable but this year has provided some of the very best compilations to ever be released. Most of them have been totally free to download comps made by the likes of the Sludge Swamp, Thee Big Black and Doom Metal Front website teams but Droning Earth is still delivering their quality compilations which are now up to Volume 36 in the series. Another one has just appeared, this one is not free but when you see the amount of work that has gone into the packaging, it comes as no surprise. This 2CD set from Australia’s PlanetFuzz Records and yes they are the same people who run the excellent PlanetFuzz website. This one is right up there with classic compilations from the past like “Sucking The 70’s Vol.I & II” or the “Dark Passages” samplers from Rise Above Records. PlanetFuzz Records out of Australia are one the rare examples of people putting some real passion and integrity into what they do and this is one of those rare compilations that skipping a track is never an issue, this is solid all the way through both discs.

Lets start with the packaging, along with the killer artwork, they also thoughtfully have included the web addresses for all the bands making it an essential resource for all new fans of the genres included but also for the more experienced listener seeking to discover some new bands to get off upon. Not only is the digipak cover professional but Planet Fuzz really have made a musical document to cherish for years to come, this is beautifully done. Musically its 100% riff-rocking madness all the way across the 28 tracks and what killer bands have we got here. Its only logical that I like some bands more than others so lets run through my personal highlights. Orthodox Fuzz deliver a chunky southern groove, Arrowhead supply the goods in a 70’s riff-fest that reminds me of Leslie West’s Mountain at their peak. Ride The Sun prove once again they are a super-group of the future with their song, “Ride”, Sons of Giants supply some great desert-rock sounds, Honcho, Gate 9 and Spelljammer all have excellent tracks showing this is 3 bands that should already be well-known in the scene instead of remaining flying under the radar and disc one ends with The Grand Astoria, a band that can proudly match the quality of the more well-known acts on this compilation.

Disc Two isn’t a total blow-out like Disc One but it’s still full of powerful tunes, most of which come from the most unknown bands of the bunch. Tombstones, Electric Cavemen and Cigmouth all have produced stand out tracks to rival ones from the likes of The Graviators and the exceptionally good Samsara Blues Experiment. In an era where record labels are facing dwindling sales due to illegal downloading, its great to see someone like PlanetFuzz putting out something of such high quality. There is not much in the way of Doom Metal on these two discs, this is for lovers of the big fuzzed out riff from bands with rich Sabbathian standards to modern Stoner-Rock sounds inspired by Kyuss and early Fu Manchu. For a starter package for the new fan or just a killer compilation for your next party with your Stoner, Doom, Sludge Metal buddies, you won’t find anything much better than this. All hail PlanetFuzz for the work that has gone into this fine release……..9/10


Posted October 19, 2010 by doommantia in PlanetFuzz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: