Bloodiest – Descent …   Leave a comment

First thing I usually do when commencing on reviewing a new album, is checking my last.fm player for accompanying bio info, references, photos, etcetera. Bloodiest was tagged as metalcore, Hungarian hardcore, metal & grindcore, according to my last.fm player. I thought what the hell, let’s give it a try anyway and fact was I liked it very much. Although I couldn’t find any metalcore or grindcore in Bloodiest sound – luckily. This Bloodiest is from Chigaco. It’s a seven piece and they deliver, well what do they deliver. I’ll let you decide. It’s kind of atmospheric, kind of psychedelic, but they manage to sound so completely original. I can’t really name a band (or a ‘tag’) that this band reminds me of, it’s just really, really original and that’s a big plus in my book. For example, listen to Obituary, track number six, and you’re hooked. It’s a variation on the riff of the first track, Fallen. Sorry, but I have to name drop Burzum’s latest, Fallen here. What a great album. But let’s get back to Bloodiest.
 Consisting of ex members of  Yakuza, 90 Day Men, Follows, Atombombpocketknife and Seep The Leg Johnny, the bio sheet refers to Neurosis and Swans when describing the type of sound Bloodiest is offering us. It is there, Neurosis, but not in a way you’d expect. Swans maybe somewhat closer to the truth, because it’s pretty dark, original and experimental maybe. Relapse Records calls Bloodiest’s Descent “vast, symphonic and ultimately heavy.” Symphonic has negative connotations for me, but I can agree with the description. After listening to this quite a bit, I can’t name any real flaws. Most of the times I’m pretty excited when I come across something new and good, so maybe it’s my enthusiasm speaking. Bruce Lamont is a member of Bloodiest (his recent album Feral Songs For The Epic Decline is a very good album), so that rules too. This album may well be top ten material! I like their down to earth approach to their music. According to their twitter: “Bloodiest is scaring the goofy sunglasses and mustaches right off of the hipsters. The singer is possessed. Guitars. Fuck yeah.”
 Check Dead Inside here: YouTube. Great track, right? Slave Rule is another prime example of the way Bloodiest do their business: slow, intricate intros with a lot of attention being paid to atmosphere and layered structures of riffs, vocals and rhythm. Out on the 29th of March, 2011, via Relapse Records. Put it in your agenda!
Review Written By Sandrijn van den Oever

9 / 10

Bloodiest @ Facebook
Bloodiest @ Myspace

Posted February 14, 2011 by doommantia in Bloodiest

Leave a Reply

